NNPC / ESSO 2013 International Postgraduate Scholarship Awards

Posted on :

21 Jun, 2013

Category :

Oil & Gas Jobs in Nigeria

In continuation of its efforts to provide opportunities for developing careers in the petroleum industry, Esso

Exploration and Production Nigeria Limited (EEPNL) is offering Scholarships to outstanding Nigerian graduates wishing to pursue International post-graduate studies in the underlisted disciplines:

  1. Geosciences
  2. Engineering (Petroleum, Mechanical, Chemical, Electrical, Electronics, Civil/Structural, Marine and Sub Sea)


  1. Must be a graduate from a Nigerian University
  2. Must possess a Bachelor’s degree with a minimum of second class upper division in any of the listed Engineering and Geosciences disciplines.
  3. Must have provisional admission to undertake full-time postgraduate study at a reputable foreign University
  4. (Msc or MEng) in the 2013/2014 academic session.

The EEPNL scholarship award applies to tuition, books, and accommodation and living expenses for the duration of the selected course of study.

If you are qualified and interested, please complete the form in “Apply Now” on this website and submit as instructed.

Shortlisted candidates should be prepared to take a skill test to be held on the 13th of July 2013. Strict compliance with our guidelines is advisable. Applications not received within 2 weeks will not be accepted. Only shortlisted candidates will be contacted.

Employees of ExxonMobil subsidiary companies in Nigeria and their dependents are not eligible for this scholarship.

Applications not received by Thursday, July 4, 2013, will not be accepted. Shortlisted candidates will be contacted with details of the qualifying test via SMS text and email.

PLEASE NOTE: ExxonMobil Upstream Affiliates in Nigeria (Esso Exploration and Production Nigeria Limited and Mobil Producing Nigeria Unlimited) do not use placement agencies that charge scholarship applicants an advance fee of any kind (e.g. application fees, placement fees, test fees, etc.)

Click here to visit and Apply

n 1974 the NNPC/MPN joint venture commenced a scholarship program for undergraduates in Nigerian higher institutions of learning.  The number of awards increased from 13 in 1974 to 30 in 1984, to 250 in 1991, and to 350 in 1993. Since 1998, the NNPC/MPN joint venture has made provision to award 500 scholarships annually.

About 60% of those are for core disciplines in Engineering and Geosciences, and the rest are for other professional courses.

Fifty percent of MPN’s Scholarship Awards go to indigenes of the operational communities and the rest of  Akwa Ibom State ( 75 goes to the operational communities while 175 to goes the other communities in the state), twelve percent to Bonny and the rest of Rivers State (50 goes to Bonny and 10 to the other communities in the state), ten percent (50) of the awards is given to the best  candidates and   twenty eight percent of the total awards (140) goes to other states including FCT based on merit and fair geographical spread.

In addition, EEPNL also awards international Post-graduate Scholarships in line with its plan to recruit, train and develop qualified Nigerians to fill positions within and outside its organization.  To apply for the scholarship, candidates must have a first degree (First Class or Second Class Upper Division in Geosciences and Engineering obtained from a Nigerian university) and a provisional admission to a recognized University in the USA, UK or any EU country.

By 2008, EEPNL has awarded a total of 56 international post-graduate scholarships. These scholarships carry no employment obligations. Upon successful completion of their courses, candidates are free to work anywhere they choose.

In 2007, EEPNL introduced the National Postgraduate Scholarship program in other to complement the existing foreign scholarship program. To apply for the scholarship, candidates must have a first degree (First Class or Second Class Upper Division in Geosciences and Engineering degree and a provisional admission in a recognized University in Nigeria. 19 awards were made in 2007 and by 2008, the number increased to 30 awards, thus bringing the total number of awards for the National Postgraduate scholarship to 49 awards.

Comment on this Job